Excuses with a dash of beauty (blending)

So firstly, I just want to say sorry for being a useless blogger in the last two weeks! I started off so well, and then I just became busy and I lacked the ideas to make myself sit down and write something entertaining.

I hope I can be forgiven, because between all the interviews and travelling, it’s actually my 21st birthday on Thursday, and I graduate the day after. Busy weekend following to say the least!

However, there was one little thing that I had an idea about. Now I’m not a beauty blogger (there’s too many amazing blogs out there to compete with), but people keep asking me about something in my makeup bag that I’ve recently started using…

The silicone beauty blender

Now, I may be behind on makeup, but I only heard about the silicone versions within the last 12 months. And that was mainly due to Kady McDermott’s beauty range, ‘By Kady’. (For those of you who don’t know, she was a finalist on last year’s Love Island).

I have to say, I didn’t purchase the ‘By Kady’ blender, purely because I was skeptical as to how good the silicone blender would be. But, I really love mine, so I might be more inclined to spend more money on it now, providing I thought the extra money would be beneficial.

Here are pictures of mine for those of you who maybe don’t know exactly what it’s like, or want to see the size/shape that I’ve got.

So as you can see, it’s pretty small. Mines the standard tear shape, but you can get them in all shapes in order to do different things (some are better for blending and working on smaller spaces, like the eyes and nose area… so I’ve heard).

When I saw it advertised, it said that it would waste less foundation, as it doesn’t absorb it the same as a sponge or a brush. This, I would say, is true. I do seem to have gone through less makeup since, plus you don’t get any patchy marks or stray hairs if your brush is getting old.

It’s also more hygienic. I’ve had this one for 6 months now, and the makeup washes straight off with water and soap, meaning no nasty bacteria can grow into it like sponges and brushes.

You don’t even have to change your technique, you literally wipe the same way as with a normal applicator, but then pat to blend it in (sounds ridiculous but it works). However, I do still use my brush to roughly go over my foundation once it’s all on, but it’s more out of habit than necessity.

I got inspo for this post because the girls I lived with, my friends and my sister have all asked me about it, and if I think it’s a worthwhile investment. I would say yes, especially because mine cost me £7 from Amazon (thank you, Amazon Prime!!).

There’s probably better versions/brands ones out there if you’re willing to spend the money. But I’d say it’s worth trying it, simply for the cleaner, more economical choice.

I will try and keep posting, because in the last week I’ve gained quite a few followers and 100% grateful to you guys!

Thanks and bye for now,

L x

 

One thought on “Excuses with a dash of beauty (blending)”

  1. Life get’s busy, I can certainly understand. Happy Early Birthday to you, have an amazing rest of the week!

    ~ Bree

    Like

Leave a comment